Belvedere Palace Tickets
Deutsch
EUR
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Interessante Fakten über das Schloss Belvedere

Schloss Belvedere ist eines der kostbaren Juwelen Wiens. Der historische Gebäudekomplex, der im späten 17. und frühen 18. Jahrhundert als Sommerpalast für Prinz Eugen von Savoyen erbaut wurde, gehört zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Obwohl das Schloss in mehrere Bereiche unterteilt ist, ziehen das Obere Belvedere und das Untere Belvedere die meisten Besucher an. Das Obere Belvedere ist besonders beliebt und beherbergt die schönsten Sammlungen von Gustav Klimt und Egon Schiele. Wir verraten Ihnen alles über die Schloss Belvedere Fakten!

Fakten über das Schloss Belvedere

Brunnen und Statuen im Schlossgarten mit Schloss Belvedere im Hintergrund

1. Sommerhaus von Prinz Eugen von Savoyen

Prinz Eugen von Savoyen war einer der größten Feldherren und Staatsmänner Österreichs. Er führte das Kaiserreich zu mehreren entscheidenden Siegen über das Osmanische Reich und im Spanischen Erbfolgekrieg. Unter seiner Führung eroberte die österreichische Armee Belgrad und verewigte Eugen in dem Volkslied Prinz Eugen, der edle Ritter. Der österreichische Feldherr war auch für seine Liebe zu Kunst, Kultur und Wissenschaft bekannt. Seine wertvollen Büchersammlungen sind ein wichtiger Teil der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, während Schloss Belvedere, das sein Sommersitz war, Millionen von Besuchern anzieht.

Büste eines Mannes im Schloss Belvedere

2. Erbaut von Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt

Prinz Eugen von Savoyen hatte für den Bau von Schloss Belvedere zwei Namen im Sinn: Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt und Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach. Er entschied sich für den ersteren als Chefarchitekten, weil Hildebrandt bereits mehrere herausragende Bauwerke errichtet hatte. Der ehemalige Schüler von Carlo Fontana, Hildebrandt, hatte zuvor das Schloss Ráckeve für den Fürsten auf der Insel Csepel gebaut. Während seiner kaiserlichen Dienstzeit errichtete er zahlreiche weitere Bauwerke, darunter Schloss Hof, Schloss Schwarzenberg, Schloss Kinsky und das Anwesen des Stiftes Göttweig. Für kurze Zeit arbeitete er als Hofarchitekt in Wien.

Ein mit Lampen erleuchteter Gang mit Goldverzierungen und weißen Statuen

3. Inspiriert durch das Schloss von Versailles mit österreichischen Elementen

Prinz Eugen von Savoyen verlangte von Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt ein Meisterwerk. Bevor er den Palast entwarf, ließ sich Hildebrandt von mehreren Gebäuden inspirieren, konzentrierte sich aber in erster Linie auf das Schloss von Versailles in Versailles, Frankreich. Der Komplex von Schloss Belvedere ist stark vom Schloss Versailles inspiriert, das von König Ludwig XIV. erbaut wurde. Hildebrandt sorgte jedoch dafür, dass auch österreichische Architekturstile in die Konstruktion von Belvedere einflossen. Nachdem er 10 Jahre an dem Projekt gearbeitet hatte, stellte Hildebrandt das Meisterwerk fertig, das er Prinz Eugen versprochen hatte.

Ein Weg in den Schlossgärten von Schloss BElvedere mit Statuen zu beiden Seiten des Weges

4. Die Nichte von Prinz Eugen lehnte den Palast ab

Prinz Eugen war der erste Bewohner des Schlosses Belvedere. Er lebte mehrere Jahre in dem Palast, machte aber nie ein Testament über die Erben des Palastes. Daraufhin wurde der Palast seiner Nichte, Prinzessin Maria Anna Victoria von Savoyen, angeboten. Überraschenderweise nahm Prinzessin Maria die Schlüssel zum Belvedere nicht an. Maria Theresia schritt später ein und kaufte den Palast. Sie verwandelte den Palast von einer Sommerresidenz in eine Kunstgalerie und öffnete ihn 1781 für die Öffentlichkeit. Auf diese Weise wurde das Schloss Belvedere zum ersten öffentlichen Museum.

Abbildung eines adeligen Mannes mit Perücke

5. Beherbergte bemerkenswerte Persönlichkeiten

Nach dem Tod von Prinz Eugen wechselten die Bewohner von Schloss Belvedere recht schnell. Im Jahr 1770 wurde der Ort für einen Maskenball genutzt, um die Hochzeit der kaiserlichen Prinzessin Marie Antonia mit dem französischen Dauphin, dem späteren Ludwig XVI., zu feiern. Später, während der Französischen Revolution, diente Schloss Belvedere als Zufluchtsort für das französische Königshaus, darunter auch Marie Therese Charlotte. 1896 bestimmte Kaiser Franz Joseph man den Palast als Residenz für seinen Neffen und Thronfolger, Erzherzog Franz Ferdinand. Ferdinand war im Palast sicher, bis er nach Sarajevo reiste, wo er ermordet wurde, was zum Ersten Weltkrieg führte.

Raum mit hohen Decken und Stuck im Schloss Belvedere, in welchem Gemälde ausgestellt werden

6. Durch Bombenangriffe im Zweiten Weltkrieg fast zerstört

Der Zweite Weltkrieg hatte verheerende Auswirkungen auf Europa. Auch Wien war dagegen nicht immun, denn die gesamte Stadt wurde durch die Bombenangriffe des Zweiten Weltkriegs fast vollständig zerstört. Auch das Schloss Belvedere wurde stark beschädigt. Teile des wunderschönen Marmorsaals mit seiner riesigen ovalen Decke wurden durch die Luftangriffe zerstört. Der Groteskensaal im Unteren Belvedere erlitt ein ähnliches Schicksal, so dass der gesamte Komplex in Trümmern lag. Glücklicherweise wurden nach dem Krieg Renovierungsarbeiten durchgeführt, und die Österreichische Galerie wurde am 4. Februar 1953 im Oberen Belvedere wiedereröffnet. Das Barockmuseum wurde im selben Jahr im Unteren Belvedere eröffnet.

Springbrunnen im Schlossgarten von Schloss Belvedere

7. Besteht aus mehreren Gebäuden

Schloss Belvedere ist mehr als ein einzelnes Gebäude. Es ist ein riesiger Komplex, der sich über mehrere Hektar erstreckt und aus dem Oberen und Unteren Belvedere sowie einem großen Garten besteht. Zusammen bilden sie eines der schönsten barocken Bauwerke Europas. Jeder Teil des Komplexes diente einem anderen Zweck. Das Obere Belvedere wurde für Repräsentationszwecke genutzt, während das Untere Belvedere die Residenz von Prinz Eugen war. Im Inneren des Unteren Belvedere können Sie den Groteskensaal, die Marmorgalerie und den Goldenen Saal besichtigen, die die Opulenz Prinz Eugens zeigen. Die kultigen Belvedere-Gärten mit ihren herrlichen Skulpturen und Wasserkaskaden laden zu einem Spaziergang ein.

Eine Frau ließt sich auf Ihrem Smartphone Informationen zu einem Gemälde durch

8. Prinz Eugens Liebe zu Orangen

Prinz Eugen war eine charmante Persönlichkeit. Er liebte Kunst und Kultur: Die meisten der Kunstwerke im Schloss Belvedere gehörten zu seiner Sammlung. Interessanterweise hatte der Prinz auch eine Vorliebe für Orangen. Ja, Orangen. Er befahl den Bau des Winterpalastes, auch Orangerie genannt, neben dem Unteren Belvedere, um seine Orangenbäume zu schützen. Die Orangerie existiert noch, beherbergt aber keine Orangen mehr. Das Haus wird heute für Ausstellungen genutzt und beherbergt eine unschätzbare Sammlung mittelalterlicher sakraler Kunst.

Schlossgarten von Schloss Belvedere in Österreich

9. Heimat der barocken Gärten

Die barocken Gärten von Schloss Belvedere sind ein wahrer Augenschmaus! Sie zählen zu den schönsten Barockgärten in Europa und wurden von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Die Gärten, die das Obere und das Untere Belvedere miteinander verbinden, bieten unglaubliche Skulpturen, gepflegte Hecken und kunstvolle Blumenbeete. In der Mitte des Gartens sind Wasserkaskaden und Springbrunnen angelegt, die ihm ein surreales Flair verleihen. Verpassen Sie auf keinen Fall den Alpengarten, der zwischen April und September in voller Blüte steht. Hier können Sie über 4000 Arten von Alpenpflanzen aus verschiedenen Teilen der Welt bewundern.

2 Frauen und ein Mann betrachten ein Gemälde in Schloss Belvedere

10. Präsentiert das Beste der österreichischen Kunst

Schloss Belvedere ist der größte Repräsentant der österreichischen Kunst im Land. Das Obere Belvedere, Teil des größeren Belvedere-Komplexes, beherbergt außergewöhnliche Kunstsammlungen, die mit den besten in Europa vergleichbar sind. Der größte Teil der Kunstwerke im Schloss war einst Teil der persönlichen Sammlung von Prinz Eugen. Die Kunstsammlungen umfassen Werke aus dem 16. und 17. Jahrhundert von italienischen, niederländischen und flämischen Künstlern. Das Belvedere beherbergt auch die größte Sammlung von Gustav Klimt Gemälden, darunter Der Kuss und Judith. Auf Ihrer Tour werden Sie auch Kunst aus dem Mittelalter und legendäre Werke von Monet, Van Gogh, Amerling, Fendi und dem Bildhauer Franz Xaver Messerschmidt kennenlernen.




Schloss Belvedere Tickets

Häufig gestellte Fragen: Schloss Belvedere Fakten

Was ist das Schloss Belvedere?

Schloss Belvedere ist ein historisches Museum in Wien, Österreich. Es beherbergt die größten österreichischen und mittelalterlichen Kunstsammlungen.

Was ist die interessanteste Tatsache über Schloss Belvedere?

Der Erste Weltkrieg hätte vielleicht nie stattgefunden, wenn Erzherzog Franz Ferdinand das Schloss Belvedere nicht verlassen hätte. Ferdinand verließ Belvedere in Richtung Sarajevo, wo er ermordet wurde, was zum Ersten Weltkrieg führte.

Wo liegt Schloss Belvedere?

Das Schloss Belvedere befindet sich in Wien, Österreich.

Wann wurde das Schloss Belvedere erbaut?

Das Schloss Belvedere wurde im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert als Sommerresidenz für Prinz Eugen von Savoyen erbaut.

Wann wurde das Schloss Belvedere eröffnet?

Das Schloss Belvedere wurde 1781 als öffentliches Museum eröffnet.

Wer hat Schloss Belvedere gebaut?

Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt hat das Schloss Belvedere entworfen und gebaut.

Welche berühmten Gemälde befinden sich im Schloss Belvedere?

Gustav Klimts Der Kuss und Judith sind berühmte Gemälde im Schloss Belvedere.

Wie viele Gemälde/Kunstwerke befinden sich im Schloss Belvedere?

Das Schloss Belvedere beherbergt Tausende von Gemälden.

Stimmt es, dass Schloss Belvedere ein Gebäude hat, das für Orangen bestimmt ist?

Ja. Prinz Eugen befahl den Bau des Winterpalastes, auch Orangerie genannt, um die Orangenbäume im Schloss Belvedere zu schützen. Er mochte Orangen sehr.

Weitere Informationen

Belvedere Palace Tickets
Tickets
English
EUR
Language
Currency
Contents

Get To Know Interesting Facts About the Belvedere Palace in Vienna

Belvedere Palace is one of Vienna's precious jewels. The historic building complex, built as a summer palace for Prince Eugene of Savoy in the late 17th and early 18th century, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Although the Palace is divided into several sections, the Upper Belvedere and the Lower Belvedere attract the most visitors. The former is especially popular, home to the finest collections of Gustav Klimt and Egon Schiele. Keep reading as we list the top facts about the Belvedere Palace.

Belvedere Palace facts

Belvedere Palace Facts

1. Summer Home of Prince Eugene of Savoy

Prince Eugene of Savoy was one of Austria's greatest military commanders and statesmen. He led the imperial to several vital wins over the Ottoman Empire and in the War of Spanish Succession. Under his leadership, the Austrian Army captured Belgrade and immortalized Eugene in the folk song 'Prince Eugene, the noble knight. The Austrian commander was also renowned for his love of art, culture, and science. His precious book collections are a vital part of the Austrian National Library, while Belvedere Palace, which was his summer home, attracts millions of visitors.

Belvedere Palace Facts

2. Built by Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt

Prince Eugene of Savoy had two names on his mind to construct Belvedere Palace - Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt and Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach. He chose the former as the chief architect because Hildebrandt had built several outstanding properties. The former student of Carlo Fontana, Hildebrandt, had previously built the Ráckeve Palace for the Prince on Csepel Island. He went on to construct numerous other structures, including Schloss Hof Palace, Schwarzenberg Palace, Kinsky Palace, and the Göttweig Monastery estate, during his imperial service. Briefly, he worked as a court architect in Vienna.

Belvedere Palace Facts

3. Inspired by the Chateau of Versailles with Austrian elements

Prince Eugene of Savoy demanded a masterpiece from Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt. Before designing the Palace, Hildebrandt took inspiration from several buildings but primarily focused his study on the Chateau of Versailles in Versailles, France. Belvedere Palace's complex is heavily inspired by the Palace of Versailles, built by King Louis XIV. However, Hildebrandt ensured that Austrian architectural styles were also embedded in Belvedere's construction. After working 10 years on the project, Hildebrandt finished the masterpiece he had promised Prince Eugene.

Belvedere Palace Facts

4. Prince Eugene's niece refused the Palace

Prince Eugene was the first resident of the Belvedere Palace. He lived for several years in the Palace but never made a will about the identity of its next residents. As a result, the Palace was offered to his niece, Princesses Maria Anna Victoria of Savoy. Surprisingly, Princess Maria didn't take the keys to the Belvedere. Maria Theresa later stepped in and bought the Palace. She transformed the Palace from a summer residence to an art gallery, opening it up to the public in 1781. This way, Belvedere Palace became the first public museum.

Belvedere Palace Facts

5. Housed notable personalities

After the death of Prince Eugene, the residents of Belvedere Palace changed rather quickly. In 1770, the site was used for a masked ball event to celebrate the marriage of Imperial Princess Marie Antonia to the French Dauphin, who later became Louis XVI. Later, during the French Revolution, Belvedere Palace was used as a refuge by French royalty, including Marie Therese Charlotte. In 1896, Emperor Fraz Joseph I designated the Palace as a residence for his nephew and heir apparent, Archduke Franz Ferdinand. Ferdinand was safe in the Palace until he left for Sarajevo, where he was assassinated, leading to World War I.

Belvedere Palace Facts

6. Almost destroyed by WWII bombings

World War II had a devastating impact on Europe. Vienna wasn't immune, with the entire city almost destroyed by the WWII bombings. The Belvedere Palace also suffered significant damage, with parts of the beautiful Marble Hall, which had a vast oval ceiling, destroyed by the bombings. The Hall of Grotesques in the Lower Belvedere suffered a similar fate, leaving the entire complex in tatters. Fortunately, renovations were carried out after the war, and the Österreichische Galerie was reopened in the Upper Belvedere on February 4, 1953. The Baroque Museum was opened in the Lower Belvedere in the same year.

Belvedere Palace Facts

7. Made up of several buildings

Belvedere Palace is more than a single building. It is a vast complex spread over several acres, consisting of the Upper and Lower Belvedere and a large garden. They together make up one of Europe's finest Baroque structures. Each part of the complex served a different purpose. The Upper Belvedere was used for representation purposes, while the Lower Belvedere was Prince Eugene's residence. Inside the latter, you'll see the Groteskensaal, Marble Gallery, and Golden Room, which showcase Prince Eugene's opulence. Meanwhile, the iconic Belvedere Gardens are perfect for a stroll and feature magnificent sculptures and water cascades.

Belvedere Palace Facts

8. Prince Eugene's love for oranges

Prince Eugene was a charming personality. He was fond of art and culture: most of the artwork inside Belvedere Palace was part of his collection. Interestingly, the Prince was also fond of oranges. Yes, oranges. He ordered the construction of the Winter Palace, also known as the Orangery, next to the Lower Belvedere to protect his orange trees. The Orangery still exists but doesn't house oranges anymore. The house is now used for exhibitions and holds an invaluable collection of medieval sacred art.

Belvedere Palace Facts

9. Home to Baroque Gardens

Belvedere Palace's baroque gardens are a sight to behold! They are considered among the finest baroque gardens in Europe and are designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Connecting the Upper and Lower Belvedere, the gardens feature incredible sculptures, well-manicured hedges, and artistic flower beds. Water cascades and fountains are built in the middle of the garden, giving it a surreal feel. Don't miss the Alpine Garden, which lights up with the summer bloom between April and September. You can see over 4000 types of Alpine plants from different parts of the world.

Belvedere Palace Facts

10. Showcases the best of Austrian art

Belvedere Palace is the biggest champion of Austrian art in the country. The Upper Belvedere, part of the larger Belvedere complex, contains extraordinary art collections comparable to the best in Europe. Most of the artwork inside the Palace was once part of Prince Eugene's personal collection. The art collections include works from the 16th and 17th centuries by Italian, Dutch, and Flemish artists. Belvedere is also home to the largest collection of Gustav Klimt paintings, including "The Kiss" and "Judith." On your tour, you'll also be introduced to art from the Middle Ages and legendary works by Monet, Van Gogh, Amerling, Fendi, and sculptor Franz Xaver Messerschmidt.




Book your Belvedere Palace tickets

Direct Entry Ticket to the Upper or Lower Belvedere Palace
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
2 hr.
Audio Guide
More details
from
€14.60
Combo (Save 10%): Direct Entry Tickets to Upper and Lower Belvedere Palace
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
from
€28.89
Combo (Save 14%): Direct Entry to the Upper Belvedere Palace + Big Bus 24/48-Hour Hop-On Hop-Off Tour of Vienna
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
Guided Tour
More details
from
€50.05
Direct Entry Ticket to the Upper Belvedere Palace
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr.
More details
from
€17.50
Upper Belvedere Palace Guided Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
2 hr.
Guided Tour
More details
Combo: Direct Entry Tickets to Belvedere Palace + Belvedere 21: Museum of Contemporary Art
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
from
€41.40

Frequently asked questions about the Belvedere Palace

What is the Belvedere Palace?

Belvedere Palace is a historical museum in Vienna, Austria. It houses the greatest Austrian and Middle Ages art collections.

What is the most interesting fact about Belvedere Palace?

World War I may have never happened if Archduke Franz Ferdinand had never left the Belvedere Palace. Ferdinand left Belvedere for Sarajevo, where he was assassinated, leading to World War I.

Where is Belvedere Palace?

The Belvedere Palace is in Vienna, Austria.

When was the Belvedere Palace built?

The Belvedere Palace was built as a summer residence for Prince Eugene of Savoy in the 17th and 18th centuries.

When did the Belvedere Palace open?

The Belvedere Palace was opened as a public museum in 1781.

Who built Belvedere Palace?

Johann Lukas von Hildebrandt designed and built Belvedere Palace.

What famous paintings are inside Belvedere Palace?

Gustav Klimt's "The Kiss" and "Judith" are famous paintings inside Belvedere Palace.

How many paintings/artworks are inside Belvedere Palace?

The Belvedere Palace is home to thousands of paintings.

Is it true that Belvedere Palace has a building meant for oranges?

Yes. Prince Eugene ordered the construction of Winter Palace, also known as the Orangery, to protect orange trees at the Belvedere Palace. He was fond of oranges.